• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

How to survive in a workplace without technical document

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
hi, I have been joining a company for six months. The salary, company reputation and co-workers are nice. But one thing which makes me headaches is that the system is not fully documented. For instance, they don't have technical spec , ER diagram, functional requirement, nor user manual. what we have is just an out-of-dated data flow diagram.

The poor skilled manager believes that the diagrams are for high level only. if developers want to know the flow and detail, they should go read the code. The main problem is the code is 7-8 years ago and it is coded without any good design like OO or framework. Every time I am asked to fix bug, I have to spend 5-7 hrs to understand the flow, try to play around it and finally fix the bug which only spend me 10% of the time. Since the system is huge, there are so many part I don't know and it is hard for me to understand the system without document but reading the messy code. I am so stressed out as I spend at least 10 hrs everyday to try-and-fail the application flow in order to reproduce the problem.