• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Calling a Controller from a another Controller (ejbFacade Null)

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,
Im working on a JSF app running in a glassfish server.
The thing is I have a master detail model.
So when a detail is updated I would like to recalculate some values in the master.
What I was planning to do was, create a master controller inside the detail controller. And with the master controller make the changes. The thing is when I try to use the master controller the ejbFacade is Null. I've read some things about this problem but nothing has helped, I think Im making a mistake in the design and maybe the logic must go elsewhere.
Thanks in advance for the help.

Regards,
D

Saloon Keeper
Android Eclipse IDE Tomcat Server Redhat Java Linux
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Welcome to the JavaRanch, Daniel!

I'm not sure that anything that you're looking at here is really JSF-related, unless you're making the common mistake of thinking that JSF backing beans are MVC Controller Objects (they're not - they're slightly impure MVC Model Objects).

However, here's a scheme that's been working well for me: