• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Reading and converting only one line to String and storing it in an array

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,

I'm new to java and I am having some problem solving my code for quite some time. I'm trying to make a line that was read in a text file convert it to String and store it in an array and then distribute it to three linked list.

for example, one of the line that is read from the text consist of "24567hguy4565e" I need to put each individual number or letter to one of index of an array and then transfer it to two linked list.

I would like to ask also for someone to clarify to me how the System.in in the "Scanner file = new Scanner(System.in);" works. I read the description from the book, but I'm not sure how it would find my text file or multiple text file and able to read from it.

I tried other methods of storing it on a linked list or array and I usually get either an array of nulls, or [L]java.lang.String;@7c6768, or an error on the loop code.

Thank you in advance.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I can help with one part of your question. String.toCharArray gives you an array populated by all the chars of the String. Then you can easily iterate over it converting each char to a String.

Sheriff