• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Get results from user defined query

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
hi,
i am new to servlets and i am doing a small jdbc application, in that i want query to be fired from textarea(html) and only those columns and values to be showed in the table on the same page. my problem is how can i get the column name that are affected by query ... and also insertion and deletion,update queries to be excuted ....

Sheriff
Eclipse IDE Spring VI Editor Chrome Java Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
One way I have used to get all results from a statement, whether that is a result set, update count or a mixture of the two, is this:

If you have a ResultSet, you can get its matching ResultSetMetaData object. With this you can retrieve the column names, types, etc. Just remember that columns start with 1, not 0.

Saloon Keeper
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

my problem is how can i get the column name that are affected by query

Through the ResultSetMetaData (which you can obtain from the ResultSet).

Paddy Joshi
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
hi,
statement.execute();
this statement does not execute ...error : The method execute(String) in the type Statement is not applicable for the arguments ()