• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Installed Jforum locally, now I want to take it live

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Essentially, I am a newb.

I installed jforum locally to my localhost and I have gotten used to the interface. I am using 1and1 for webhosting, and I have created a MySQL 5.0 database. Now, i have usernames and servernames, FTP progs, TomCat, and the whole shabang, but now I want to load it to my website. I have no clue of how I would do that.

In my head, it would sound like i need to install it remotely to the MySQL database, but when i try to install again, it sees my local install and does nothing. Any help or guidance would be super appreciated.

Thanks
[originally posted on jforum.net by SpotYacht]

Migrated From Jforum.net
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

SpotYacht wrote:Essentially, I am a newb.

I installed jforum locally to my localhost and I have gotten used to the interface. I am using 1and1 for webhosting, and I have created a MySQL 5.0 database. Now, i have usernames and servernames, FTP progs, TomCat, and the whole shabang, but now I want to load it to my website. I have no clue of how I would do that.