• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

JTextArea listening for messages

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi everybody,

I'm fairly new to swing at least on any sort of significant level, so if I don't explain something too well to start, I apologize in advance. I have a non-GUI based application that I developed, and taking the code that somebody wrote already using netbeans for an External GUI Launcher type program and I'm integrating it directly into my existing code. The plan is to eventually create a new GUI, but in order to have a better interaction between the user and the product without waiting for months of GUI development i figured I would start here.

So the GUI part of the program now is based off a SingleFrameApplication, and currently this SingleFrameApplication will fire off a JDialog box at a certain point. From this JDialog box, we used to kick off my program using

p = Runtime.getRuntime().exec("my_program.cmd");

we would then listen for output in a jtextarea by

This worked out ok for what it was. But now I want to be able to (from outside the gui code) directly send my logging to this text area (and eventually update other text areas and other swing objects).