• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

JUnit-what to test?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I have to write JUnit test cases for my class CheckVul (code below) but it's my first time using JUnit and am stuck on how to make test cases for these methods since they all are void, and write to a file. The checkDatabase method takes in a 'profile name' and a 'year' provided by the user, to compare that profile with the database of that year and check for vulnerabilities. I have a basic understanding of how to write test cases for simple methods that return something, etc. but not for this. Any suggestions? :S I was thinking making a test case for the checkDatabase method would be simple, but not sure how to go about it.

Sheriff
Mac Android IntelliJ IDE Eclipse IDE Spring Debian Java Ubuntu Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
If I were the one being asked to test this, I would first have a serious talk with the developer about the design.

First, it's not unit testable since it expects input from a file. A unit test should not cross system boundaries, that is, it should not access the file system, a database, a web service, etc. For this class, you can only write integration tests, which are expected to cross system boundaries.