• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

equals() and == operator in JAVA

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,
I am new to Java. Can anyone please explain me the diff between == and equals() operators in java.
As per my knowledge, the “==” operator is used to compare 2 objects and equals() compares contents of the objects.
I have got a piece of code:
public class EqualsTest {

public static void main(String[] args) {

String s1 = "abc";
String s2 = s1;
String s5 = "abc";
String s3 = new String("abc");
String s4 = new String("abc");
System.out.println("== comparison : " + (s1 == s5));
System.out.println("== comparison : " + (s1 == s2));
System.out.println("Using equals method : " + s1.equals(s2));
System.out.println("== comparison : " + s3 == s4);
System.out.println("Using equals method : " + s3.equals(s4));
}
}

Output:
== comparison : true
== comparison : true
Using equals method : true
false
Using equals method : true

I need to know why System.out.println("== comparison : " + (s1 == s5)); returns true when s1 and s5 are two diff String objects.

Bartender
Hibernate Eclipse IDE Ubuntu
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Sayan Mitra wrote:As per my knowledge, the “==” operator is used to compare 2 objects and equals() compares contents of the objects.