• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Looking for expert advise to move ahead in Java

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi there,

I wanted to move fully into Java EE + Oracle platform from ColdFusion + Oracle/SQL Server.
I have 11+ years experience in Web Application Development. At major, I have been using ColdFusion since 11 years + SQL Server (10 years) + Oracle DB & PL/SQL (1.5 yrs) etc...

Part of my journey on 27th Dec, 2012 I passed my OCP Java SE 6 Certification with 81%.
I know my ultimate goal is to learn and use : Java EE + Hibernet + ANT + Any framework (Spring MVC / Struts / JSF etc..). Once I know about these things then I like to approach Java jobs.

Now the biggest question is : What is next? How to proceed? Confused mind?

Can I have some advise from your JAVA's professional experience? Would you please assist me showing WAY?

1) I should go for which framework? Spring MVC / Structs / JSF or any other.

2) What is the best book to learn Java EE + Hibernet + Whatever Framework you recommend?

3) Are there any online resource for Java EE + Hibernet along with video, code samples etc....?

Kindly give me some advise.
Believe me, your input means a lot to me. I will make most out of it.

Looking forward to getting your answers.

Thanks,
Hitesh Patel
Sydney

Bartender