• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Symmetry Calculator

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi there,

I'm a french graphic designer and am working on my diploma project.
The subject: Symmetry (more precisely bilateral symmetry).
I came up with the idea of a symmetry calculator, to determine a percentage of symmetry for a given image, so 0% would be total chaos and 100% would be a computer mirrored image (but the point would be that nothing in the real world ever reaches 0 or 100%).

The principle is quite simple:

For that, I found Rafael Santos's code sample to calculate the similarity between two images.
I had absolutely no knowledge of Java or any programming language (except a little HTML/CSS), so I downloaded EclipseIDE and read a few Java lessons online.
I managed to create my little program (which is still very austere), by finding samples of code here and there and adapt it to my purpose.

Now, my problem is that the program works great for symmetrical images, but not quite good for asymmetrical images... See for yourself:

Rafael's code splits the images in 25 chunks and compares them to each other using their RGB values and other stuff that I can't really understand... I just know it's not thorough enough (he himself calls his program "NaiveSimilarityFinder").