• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Arduino In Action Question

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I have been developing projects with the Arduino for six months now and have progressed fairly far. My son and I built a autonomous robot that uses sonic distances sensors, infra red sensors, temperature sensors and microphones to navigate a maze. It is quite a good project for us to have learnt the basics. I am now wanting to progress onto having more than two Arduino communicating with each other and with a computer. What is the best way of doing this? Should I use the SPI bus or the I2C bus for the communication between the micro controllers?

author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Gavin

it will depend on the specifics of your project. For example how far the Arduinos are apart there are a variety of communication protocols you could use including good old serial.

Gavin Ross
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Thanks for the reply.