• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Accessing wav files

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am rather new to Tomcat and only a little more experienced in the ways of JAVA. My windows application needs to access WAV files via HTTP. I would like to access files in say... "C:/prompts" on my server "//10.20.30.40:8080" for example. How do I make this path visible via HTTP? Is there a configuration file with which I can point to my virtual directory so that the URL becomes something like: "http://10.20.30.40:8080/Prompts"?

Bartender
Android Mac OS X Firefox Browser Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
This looks like more of Tomcat configuration issue. Moving

Rancher
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
You would use the docBase attribute of the Context element to point to an arbitrary directory outside of the Tomcat installation: http://tomcat.apache.org/tomcat-7.0-doc/config/context.html

Saloon Keeper
Android Eclipse IDE Tomcat Server Redhat Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
The simplest way would be to merely include copies of the wav files as part of your WAR and not attempt to kludge around things.