• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Architecture for a Java EE University Project

Greenhorn
Chrome Java Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello everyone.

First let me apologize if the topic doesn't belong to this section.
I'm a student and I've got to make a university project. Generally speaking, what I want is a web app that would allow to deal with some data in a database with standard CRUD-like operations and provide a childish API to make this data available from some other clients. Essentially, nothing special, but not for me. I decided to make it Java EE-based since I've been learning Java for some time. Sure I know you should first take an overview of all the technologies to choose the most suitable one, but I'm obviously not in the position to show my expertise (or lack of it, which is definitely more plausible). The problem is I'm a little bit overwhelmed with a set of technologies constituting Java EE and related ones and I guess I may not need to study the whole thing now. So the main task is to finish my project and the secondary one is to gain skills needed to work as a Java EE developer with a help of this project.