• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Question regarding reflection api and class method overriding.

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello there I'm new to java world, still learning and trying to understand as much as I can. I'm doing it by practice since I think its the best way. Currently I'm trying to develop app with map my xbox controller to system keyboard and mouse. Using some nice free and open source libraries I almost reach my goal but unfortunately I figured one big problem. To simulate keyboard events I use awt.robot its works as a charm with definied in KeyEvent class values for virtual keys codes but does not work for special keys like Volume_Up and Volume_Down. I did small research and figured thats becouse awt.robot before simulate key stroke do test if key value is declared in KeyEvent class. So my application is limited only for keys codes declared there, I think its big issuse since its very limited compared for example to keys declared in Winuser.h (http://msdn.microsoft.com/pl-pl/library/windows/desktop/dd375731(v=vs.85).aspx). I spent some time to trying obey these issue and belive java reflection could do the trick. All I need is to override awt.Robot method to do not check if keycode is declared in KeyEvent class or I need to override KeyEvent class and ad