• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Servlet not running

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am new to webdevelopment. I am using Tomcat 5 on Windows 2000. The examples that came with Tomcat works fine. I compiled my own servlet and when I try to run it I get a 404 error. Please help me on how I should configure Tomcat to run by servlet.
Regards,
Maru

Author and all-around good cowpoke
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
That is a pretty sketchy description, but based on the observed probability of various errors made by new users, I would say that you have run into the "invoker" servlet problem. Take a look at the JavaRanch FAQ.
Bill

Mulugeta Maru
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I am very sorry for not providing details to my problem. All the examples that cam with Tomcat work when used http://localhost:8080/servlet-examples/session.
I created my own servlet (a very simple one HelloWorld). I compiled and placed my servlet in a folder called mywebapp. When I use http://localhost:8080/mywebapp/HelloWorld I get 404 error. Since I am new to this area I thought there may be configuration issue I have to do to properly use Tomcat.
Regards,
Maru

William Brogden
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Yes there are configuration issues.