• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Keeping all of the plates spining

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm a java developer. I struggle with how to keep all this technical stuff in my head. As we all know, if you don't use it you lose it. But even if you are working heads down you are most likely only touching a samll portion of your knowledge.

I never hear of anyone talk about how they deal with this challenge. There are a few tools out there for new acquisition of knowledge but fewer tools address this need.

I'm looking for ideas about how to systematically review this material from time to time to refresh my memory. I keep all my books but I can't always be near them and wading through the book looking for the essential information is not a productive use of time.

I've thought about developing learning objectives for each subject matter.
And then developing a tool that helps a person evaluate and review their recollection of the topic.

I'd consider even writing a tool if I knew more about the requirements.

Any thoughts?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
This is what I do, and it works ok for me.

At any given time I am doing a few things.