• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

dynamic method invocation

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hai forum,

I am a newbie to java and i am really confused about how to invoke method dynamically.Plz help me out with your suggestions and tips,which will be valuable to me.

I get the method selected dynamically and pass that to the method invocation class.The user inputs are collected in an array inside the class.

I have troubles in the following area:

1. whenever i run the following code MethodNotfound Exception is thrown for all the methods of the Classinstance, whereas invocation is required only for the methodName method which is passed.

2.I have no idea how to check for each parameter in the array for integer or float or double etc..and pass that to invoke method.

Please help me with your ideas.

Thank you all

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I couldnt replicate your error, but following is the working code (with lots of hardcoding) that invokes the method using reflection.
Just check if this helps

author and iconoclast
Mac OS X Eclipse IDE Chrome
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies