• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Designer, Architect and Solution Provider

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi folks, I have 7+ years of experience in java/j2ee and hands on in SQL programming. I want to hone my technical skills , problem solving ability and envisioning solution. In short I want to be a good designer, an architect and solution provider in next few years.

I have been reading a couple of books on designing, architecting etc., but I feel that transitioning from a developer to designer/architect is extremely slow process and it is difficult to evaluate the progress itself. Sometimes it is very frustrating to know if any progress is being made at all.

Can some one guide me as to how I can actively get involved in speeding up my designing/architecting skill. Are there some forums/books that will help to exchange knowledge and experience with designer/architect and help me realize my dream.

Would the SCEA exam help to improve my skill as a designer/architect.

Any guidance will be appreciated.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator