Win a copy of Kotlin in Action this week in the Kotlin forum!
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic

Can Thread return values  RSS feed

Helen Choo
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,
I am new in threads but based on what i read, to create a thread class, you need to extend from Thread class and do the normal constructer and have a run or start method inside(Is it a must?)Is it possible that a run or start method return a value to the object that calls it?

Jim Baiter
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Say you wanted to effectively return a String, I think this will work. You have to make the extra call to get the return value after run completes -
<code>
class A extends Thread {
private String[] s;
private int thrNum;
public A(int thrNum) {
this.thrNum = thrNum;
s = new String[thrNum];
}
public void run() {
s[thrNum] = // what ever you want returned
}
public String getReturnValue(int thrNum) {
return s[thrNum];
}
}
</code>

Yuri Gadow
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Because your only two options are Runnable and Thread, and the method signatures cannot, of course, be changed when overridden, the short answer is no. The long answer is very long, as there is a multitude of thread messaging techniques out there for complex problems (see Tools of Computing, from the guys who wrote High-Performance Java Platform Computing, an excellent read) and the more common (note this link was down, but you could get a cached version from google.) Hope these help.
(This google link doesn't want to work on UBB, for me anyway, search google for doug+lea+util.concurrent if needed.)
[This message has been edited by Yuri Gadow (edited June 21, 2001).]

fixed links with [ url][ /url] tags.

[This message has been edited by Marilyn deQueiroz (edited September 08, 2001).]

Helen Choo
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
The websites provided is unaccessible.