Win a copy of Kotlin in Action this week in the Kotlin forum!
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic

Thread Pooling  RSS feed

Prabha Dhandapani
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Report post to moderator
Hello Everybody,
I have a Java Program that reads an XML document ,parses it and loads the file into a database(table).This process is for every single XML File and there are 100's of files.So its takes a very long time to load all these documents.I need to multithread this process so that the XML's can be loaded simultaneously.I am kinda confused as to what I should do.I am new to thread porgramming and so read the Sun tutorial.What strategy or design shuld I follow to multiThread this process and what is the best solution. Also,I read about ThreadPooling which is my requirement because I use a database connection pool so I need to restrict the number of threads to say 5 that run to load the XML in the database.can somebody help me with a suitable solution???The requirement is not to have container managed pool.Would appreciate if someone can direct me to some source code that has implemented this concept so that I would be able to understand the process well.This is very very urgent.Looking for Rancher's help!
Many Thanks in advance,
Prabha

Adrian Yan
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Seems that you are requesting two types of pool. One is database pooling, which creates a pool of database connections. The other is a file reading pool where you read more than 1 files at a time.
The database pool I use is from jakarta common project. DBCP
They also have a threadpool, althou I never used it. Threadpool
I use my own designed and implemented threadpool.

Prabha Dhandapani
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Thanks Adrian!