Win a copy of Secure Financial Transactions with Ansible, Terraform, and OpenSCAP this week in the Cloud/Virtualization forum!
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Bear Bibeault
Sheriffs:
  • Rob Spoor
  • Henry Wong
  • Liutauras Vilda
Saloon Keepers:
  • Tim Moores
  • Carey Brown
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Piet Souris
Bartenders:
  • Frits Walraven
  • Himai Minh
  • Jj Roberts

Craigslist Oddities

 
Ranch Hand
Posts: 132
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
What's the oddest things you guys have seen on craigslist? Here's one that caught my eye.


Rent Free Abode. All I Ask For Is Friendship
Reply to: hous-740023288@craigslist.org
Date: 2008-07-02, 1:28AM PDT


Before I lost dependable transportation (during the day anyway) I was rarely bored. I had friends and would regularly travel to places for window browsing and other forms of recreation. Now that I work from home and have lost that transportation I find myself extremely bored and growing ever lonely. I am offering a place to say, where you will be free from financial burden, in return for your friendship. You will not have to work and will be free to spend your time doing whatever you like. I enjoy literature, music, movies, games, and conversing. I am open minded, a great listener, dedicated to those in my life, and feel that I have a lot to offer a potential friend. I hope that I will be able to find somebody who needs a solid friendship in their life as much as I do. If this idea appeals to you, please read further.

In return for your companionship you would receive a place to stay, live rent free, utilities are free, food is provided, necessities are available, and we would try to provide you with some entertainment/luxuries when desired. We are not rich, we currently live in a very small house but in the next couple of months will be moving to a much bigger and spacious house, we can only provide a couch or blowup mattress to sleep on (hopefully will upgrade for you within the next few months), and due to the fact that I am alone all day, you would be expected NOT to seek active employment. I realize this opportunity is probably not attractive to most but I am hoping there are some people out there that need a place to stay or for whatever reason would prefer to stay home all day and just hang out over going to work. I enjoy listening to music, watching movies, playing games of all types, and above all else conversing.

A little bit about me. I am 27 years old, am married, and have two small boys under the age of four. My wife works during the night and sleeps most of the day. It is likely she will keep to this work schedule and job for a good year or two before even considering an alternate form of employment. She is trying to build up work history and her working nights is the best way to do this right now. I love my wife to death but I just don't see her that much anymore. She is not only aware that I am looking for somebody to fulfill this role but she is pushing me to find somebody as she worries about me having so much free time and nothing to do.

We are both kind, caring, loving, loyal, trustworthy, compassionate, intelligent, and eccentric. We have both dedicated the last couple of years to helping people in need, in fact we have two people living with us right now that had nowhere else to go and are looking to get a new start in life, and will continue to do so when possible. We take great joy and pride from knowing that we have made a difference in the lives of those who need "somebody to truly be there for them" the most. Anybody who comes into this situation should be prepared to hang out with both of us when Jeana has days off.

I am looking for a woman between the ages of 18 and 26 to fill this spot. I have spent most of my life in the company of women. It isn't that I don't get along with men or even have any problems with them. I think I just relate better to women than I do most men. There is no question about it when you meet me, I'm definitely a man at heart, but I tend to be more complex, intellectual, and emotionally aware than most men are comfortable with or prone to achieve, at least when left to their own devices. I know there are exceptions, in both gender pools, but at this point in time I feel I would benefit much more from the company of a female. I am not looking for a relationship or sex or anything else even remotely "creepy". I just need a friend to help pass the time with.

If you would be interested in more information please contact me. I have a simple questionnaire that I will respond with so you can tell me a little bit more about yourself and I can easily keep those who respond separate and well defined. I am based in Wylie, a small Dallas suburb, in the state of Texas but am willing to make travel arrangements to move you here if relocating is something your interested in doing. Before I commit to anybody I will need to speak with them over the phone a few times and to see a picture or two. Pictures without axes in your hand or dead bodies in the background are a definite plus =)

it's NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests
PostingID: 740023288

 
Get me the mayor's office! I need to tell him about this tiny ad:
SKIP - a book about connecting industrious people with elderly land owners
https://coderanch.com/t/skip-book
reply
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic