• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic

Thread variables, local or shared

Nate Lockwood
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Report post to moderator
I'm new at Java but thought that this would be the best place to ask my question.
My app will run some threads and I'm testing one thread class now. I'm now confused about which of the class variables are local and which are shared among instances of the thread.

In the below heuristic snippet I thought that "secondVariable" would be local but not the others and came across some information that none is local to a particular instance of the thread.
Which is correct? My code only uses private. If secondVariable is not local to the thread instance I'll need to protect it somehow .

Thakns, Nate

Ajezi Sajirava
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
If more than one Thread can change any of the variables, you should synchronise the methods that do the changing, then they will be Thread-safe.

Paul Clapham
Sheriff
Eclipse IDE Firefox Browser MySQL Database
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
In your example, firstVariable and secondVariable both belong to an instance of the Foo class. So if there are two instances of the class then each of them has their own copy of those variables. This has nothing to do with threads per se; it's possible for two threads to work with a single object. Also, private and public have nothing to do with threading. They simply control whether code in other classes can access those variables or not.

And thirdVariable is a static variable, so it belongs to the Foo class. So there is only one copy of that variable. This also has nothing to do with threads.

When you say
If secondVariable is not local to the thread instance I'll need to protect it somehow.
exactly what kind of "protection" did you have in mind? It's true that incrementing a variable is not an atomic operation; is that what you were talking about?

Nate Lockwood
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful