Win a copy of Murach's Python Programming this week in the Jython/Python forum!
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic

Thread Safety in Servlets  RSS feed

somasundar venkatesh
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,

can anybody help me in this issue..as I'm new to Servlets.

How the Servlets are providing the thread-safety feature, even though it can be accessed by multiple threads at a time and even SingleThreadedModel concept has been removed ?

Thanks and Regards,
Somasundar.

hemantha kumar k
Greenhorn
Hibernate Java jQuery
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Servlet is not Thread safe, so it's all about programming, if we want to make servlet as thread safe the use the synchronize block to synchronize only part of the code which you intended inside the doGet or doPost methods.

Bear Bibeault
Author and ninkuma
Marshal
IntelliJ IDE Java jQuery Mac Mac OS X
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
tinku rider wrote:if we want to make servlet as thread safe the use the synchronize block to synchronize only part of the code which you intended inside the doGet or doPost methods.

No, that's a bad idea and something that's only done as a last resort.

Rather, most servlets can be made thread0safe by simply being sure not to use any instance variables.

abani patra
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi,
If I need instance how it will be threadsafe without synchronize block.

Tim Moores
Saloon Keeper
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Java has other ways of providing synchronization; start reading here: http://download.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/essential/concurrency/index.html

But there's nothing wrong with using explicit synchronization if the circumstances call for it.

somasundar venkatesh
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Tim Moores wrote:Java has other ways of providing synchronization; start reading here: http://download.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/essential/concurrency/index.html