After a few days of use, I found some things need to be improved.
First, the user and group management must be completely changed :
- anonymous user cannot be blocked easily
- users cannot be deleted
- when you add a forum or a category you need to modify every groups to allow or forbid access
- you can't forbid new user having sign up to wait for manual activation (only in misconfiguring validation mail)
- probably lots of others things
Then, others things can be improved for the next version :
- easy way to change the template
- easy management of the button to disable or add them (google, youtube, flash, wmv) and the action associated to them
It's great to see that you offer your help to improve these things :-)
Though - I think you should reconsider the 'delete' issue. It's quite tricky. And not many systems really do it for that reason - because: the deleted persons may have had some profile, they have some posts, polls, answered on other threads, ... what do you do with all these messages? Name the author to "Mr Black"? Or "John Doe"? What if there's such a username already in the system and all that ;)
Aside that, if you always read "user has been deleted" as username, you - in the end - dont know which of these users was a different deleted user ...
You see, it's a real tricky one in the end ^^
And I guess one of the main aspects for why it isnt in the code yet. [originally posted on jforum.net by Sid]
Actually, I disagree. Other forums have solved this problem before, the solution is pretty straightforward, IMHO:
Keep the posts, topics & PM's of the user, but change the title from " Forum Baby" (or whatever it is) to "Deleted user". Polls should still work, the user's votes should still count.
The user can no longer be clicked on, though, since the profile should be unavailable (it may contain info about the user, so it mustn't be shown, since the user can no longer modify this data). Also, PM'ing the user obviously no longer works.
So basically, archive all the user's content, but no longer show the profile, and change the "title" so it's clear the user's deleted. Same you'd do when a user deletes his/her account, I guess.
Or am I totally missing something? [originally posted on jforum.net by LudoA]
Watchya got in that poodle gun? Anything for me? Or this tiny ad?